Safety Groups UK



- June 2022 -

SGUK Awards for 2021

Our awards ceremony for the SGUK Excellence and Outstanding Service Awards was held at the Safety, Health & Wellbeing Live event in Manchester on Monday 23rd May 2022

As always, the ceremony was excellent and demonstrates that efforts are appropriately recognised and rewarded.

My thanks go to everyone who was able to join us.

Details of winners are available on the 2021 winners page and photographs/videos are in the Chair's Report and via the Gallery.

SGUK Awards for 2022

Continuing the phased return of our SGUK Awards, our focus is now on our 2022 awards, comprising the remainder of our awards:

  • Innovation Awards
  • Development Through Education Awards

These awards provide organisations and individuals with an opportunity to showcase their talent and share their experiences with the health and safety community. Entry packs containing forms, rules and guidelines for the SGUK 2022 Awards are provided below, please follow the links.

As these Awards are open to organisations who are or are not currently members of a Safety Group, I ask you to use your communication channels to promote them widely.

I encourage everyone eligible to complete their entries and help make these awards a very special event. The closing date is Friday 29th July 2022, so please get your entries in early and remember, there is no fee to enter.

Thank you for your continuing support and hard work to help keep our local business safe and healthy.

Kind regards

Norman Stevenson



Innovation and Development Through Education

Innovation & Development Through Education Awards Only

Continuing our phased return of the SGUK Awards, our 2022 Awards will comprise two awards that recognise specific achievements in the fields of innovation and education.  The awards are open to individuals and organisations who wish to gain recognition for their success and make their ideas available to others to use free of charge.

There are no fees to enter.  Entry forms for the Innovation Awards and the Development Through Education Awards are below, please follow the links. 

SGUK Awards 2022 - Timetable

Open for entries from 21st March 2022

Closing date for entries is Friday 29th July 2022

Shortlisting of entries Monday 1st August 2022

We will carry out an initial assessment of submissions after the closing date to determine which submissions will be shortlisted to proceed to the next stage, which involves a presentation to the judging panel during a virtual meeting using Teams.

To provide an opportunity for your entry to proceed to the presentation stage you will initially need to keep yourself available during the two-day period.  If selected to take your entry forward to the presentation stage you will be offered a 30-minute period for your presentation.   

Presentation stage for entries – Monday 8th and Tuesday 9th August 2022

Notification to winners – week commencing 15th August 2022

The awards ceremony for these prestigious awards will take place during the first day of the Safety Health and Wellbeing event at the Farnborough International venue - 28th & 29th September 2022.

Members of all local safety groups, supporters, colleagues, friends, sponsors and associates are welcome to join us for the ceremony.

SGUK Awards 2022 – Entry forms, rules and guidance

It is a condition of entry that submissions for the Innovation and Development Through Education Awards are made available to be shared, copied or adapted and used by Safety Groups and other organisations free of charge.

Entrants must be willing to present their entry to the judges during a virtual meeting, at a time and date during the presentation stage, to be advised. The presentation should be no more than 30 minutes and will be followed by questions from the judges.

Innovation Awards

Guidance & Entry Form

In recognition of the innovative work being done to raise the standards of health and safety.

The SGUK Innovation Awards are open to all organisations of any size based or operating in the UK, whether or not they are currently members of a Safety Group. Our aim is to celebrate and share best practices and the latest thinking and innovation in health and safety management.

  • First prize winner
Lord Cullen Trophy
  • Safety Group of the first prize winner
Albert Porter Rose Bowl
  • Second prize winner
Stevenson Shield

Development Through Education Awards

Guidance & Entry Form

In recognition of effective educational engagement of learners of any age to advance health and safety.

This award is for Safety Groups, their member organisations or other organisations willing to become a member of a Safety Group that have involved learners of any age in an initiative that demonstrates effective educational engagement to advance health and safety.  This is likely to include those in school, at college, in apprenticeships, in university or early in their employment who are involved in initiatives whereby awareness of problems and solutions arising from risks has been increased or new solutions to old risk problems have been discovered.

  • First prize winner                                             SCoS Award, Silver Punch Bowl


Information on previous winners is included on the website, you might find it useful to find out more about them.



Excellence and Outstanding Service


Our awards ceremony for the SGUK Excellence and Outstanding Service Awards took place at the Safety, Health & Wellbeing Live event at the Manchester Central Convention Complex on Monday 23rd May 2022

Excellence Awards, incorporating the Alan Butler AwardBT Logo

In recognition of excellence among groups and open to all Health & Safety Groups that are members of SGUK

  • Overall Winner - 

    Northern Ireland Safety Group

   The Alan Butler Award
  • Gold Award Winners

    Hereford Health and Safety Group

    South Cumbria Occupational Health and Safety Group

    South and West Wales Safety Group

    Northern Ireland Safety Group

   SGUK Awards Gold Certificate
  • Silver Award Winners

    Birmingham Health, Safety and Environmental Association

    Kent Health and Safety Group

    North Lincs Health and Safety Group

    North West Construction Safety Group

   SGUK Awards Silver Certificate
  • Bronze Award Winners

    Wiltshire Occupational Safety & Health Association

   SGUK Awards Bronze Certificate

Outstanding Service Awards, incorporating the Maurice Adamson Award

In recognition of the outstanding service of an individual nominated by their Health & Safety Group that are members of SGUK

The winning individual's name is engraved onto The Maurice Adamson Shield which they can proudly display for 1 year

The winning individual also receives a miniature commemorative shield to keep.


Phillip John Jones of the South and West Wales Safety Group


Chris Pike of the Kent Health and Safety Group

Val Kennedy of the South Cumbria Occupational Health and Safety Group

Amanda Coughlan of the Grangemouth Contractors Safety Alliance