

President: Lord Brougham & Vaux

# PD 12 BOARD ELECTION GUIDANCE NOTES

### Nominations for Safety Groups UK Board of Trustees 20...

Nominations for up to ...... Board vacancies are required for our AGM on ......

### REQUIREMENTS

- The majority of candidates for these appointments **MUST** be current members of a Local Group and have attended a minimum of six (Local Group and/or open SGUK) meetings in the two years prior to election
- unless
- They are representatives from supporter organisations or independent sources when a maximum of **three** places on the Board are also open to help provide a more balanced viewpoint. They do not need to be members of a Local Group but will be encouraged to join one
- Candidates should include up to 250 words maximum in support of their nomination
- Nomination forms must be signed by the Nominee and by a Proposer and Seconder
- The Proposer and Seconder should be current committee members of the Local Safety Group that the nominee is a member of
  - o or colleagues from a supporter organisation
  - o or an existing board member(s) for an independent nominee

Candidates who seek election must ensure that a valid nomination form is received by the secretariat of SGUK by .....

#### Please return completed forms no later than .....

To: Secretary, Safety Groups UK

c/o RoSPA, Livingston House, 43 Discovery Terrace, Heriot Watt Research Park, Edinburgh, EH14 4AP E-mail: <u>contact@safetygroupsuk.org.uk</u>

**Revision 5** 

## **KEY RESPONSIBILITIES**

### SGUK Board Member/Trustee

- To become a trustee of the Charity and comply in principle with policy documents PD 01 & 02 (copies supplied)
- To attend and contribute to SGUK Board, Open and MAC meetings
- To play an active role in developing the Groups movement
- To assist in the delivery of the SGUK objectives

**Board Members and Trustees for 2020 - 2021** (Elected / re-elected into post in 2019 or 2020 for a three-year term)

Chairman:	Norman Stevenson, GCSA (2020)
-----------	-------------------------------

Vice Chairman: Bob Rajan, Merseyside OHSG (2020)

Treasurer: Alan Gunn SGWS (2019)

#### **Members:**

Mark Curry, Kent HSG (2019) Steve Mullock, North Staffs HSG (2020) Roger Bibbings Herefordshire (2018) Ian Coombes, Act Associates (2018) Kenny Humphreys, New Group TBC (2019) Phill Jones SWWSG (2019) Daren Metcalfe, JSP (2019) Karl Tindale, MCCSG (2019) Sanjeev Kumar, Ecoonline (2020)

No Board members are due to stand down or go for re-election

#### **Current Co-opted Members:**

David Jones, North Lincs Philip Grundy, NWCSG Jane Murdoch, SCOS Sarah Kenny, Construction Industry Publications

**Revision 5**