Safety Groups UK

Recent winners

Alan Butler Awards 2016

The Alan Butler Awards recognise the achievements of successful groups and of the many hard-working people who give up their time free-of-charge to make a difference to health and safety in companies in their area, particularly small firms. The judges were impressed with the tireless efforts of all the safety groups that entered.

The awards process invites groups to furnish answers and supporting evidence in response to six key performance questions in five areas: communication with groups, H&S organisations and the wider community; selection of topics and speakers; support for HSE and its strategy; membership retention and recruitment; and the best achievement in the previous 12 months of which they are most proud. Awards are made by an independent panel at 'bronze', 'silver' and 'gold' levels

Alan Butler Gold Awards

  • Herefordshire Health & Safety Group
  • South Cumbria Occupational Health & Safety Group
  • North West Construction Safety Group
  • Swansea & West Wales Occupational Safety Group

The Overall Gold Award Winner 2016 was announced at the House of Lords on Monday 30th January 2017

                                                 -  North West Construction Safety Group -

Click here to see a short presentation from NWCSG on their entry - NWCSG Overall Gold Award Winner 2016


Alan Butler Silver Awards

  • Birmingham Health, Safety & Environment Association
  • East Anglia Construction Safety Group
  • Humberside Occupational Health & Safety Group
  • Kent Health & Safety Group
  • Nottingham Occupational Safety & Health Association
  • Peterborough Environmental, Occupational Safety & Health Group
  • Suffolk & North Essex Occupational Safety Group
  • Tayside Integrated Safety Association
  • Wiltshire Occupational Safety & Health Association

Alan Butler Bronze Awards

  • Manchester Occupational Health & Safety Group
  • North Lincs Health &Safety Group
  • Sheffield Occupational Health & Safety Association

Maurice Adamson Award Winner 2016

The Winner of the Maurice Adamson Award 2016 is Don Urquhart of Facilities Management Health & Safety Group.

This Award was introduced in 2010 to commemorate the work of Maurice Adamson who worked tirelessly for over 20 years in improving the standards of health and safety and was the driving force behind the committee of the Teesside Safety Group.

The award is to recognise the 'Outstanding contribution from an individual to the Safety Groups Movement'. This year the calibre of nomination received was again exceptional, highlighting again the extraordinary contributions that individuals make to ensure the success of the Groups.